Nobody has asked me this directly, but I think the question is out there waiting to be answered.  “Chris, why start a blog right now?  Why not wait until you have a book deal and start then?”

Here are a few good reasons.

1.  Ever since the first time I heard of blogs, I’ve wanted to have one.  I guess I’ve got a large enough ego that I thought the whole world should be exposed to whatever thoughts and opinions I might want to share.

All those years ago, I thought my blog would deal mostly with sports with maybe a little politics mixed in.  As I’ve aged, I’ve learned that people’s political views aren’t likely to be changed no matter how hard you try.  While I’d still love to write about sports, I started this blog to deal mainly with my writing and to provide a place for me to connect with readers.  I can’t promise that I won’t write about sports from time to time, but I’ll keep it to a minimum.  If sports and politics are out of bounds, what am I going to write about? That brings me to the second reason..

2.  When I get into the process of finding an agent (and then a publisher after that), a blog is indispensable.  That’s even more true for previously unpublished authors like me.  With little or no no publishing credits, agents and publishers need to find out as much as they can about new authors before entering into deals with them.  They’ll primarily want to see more examples of my writing, but also they’ll be wanting to see what kind of person I am.  They want to be assured that they’re dealing with someone who is mature and professional.  They are the ones who would be investing in me, and hopefully what they read here will make them confident that I’m a good risk to take.

3.  Today, all authors are expected to build a “platform” to attract and interact with readers in their target market.  Platforms include blogs, websites, Twitter accounts, Facebook fan pages and other social media accounts.  While I don’t expect to have a huge following anytime soon, I want the infrastructure to be there and ready to function when I need it.  I’ve always been a “do-it-yourselfer” in regard to technology, so I wanted to get a head start and not have to scramble if things came together quickly.

So, in case anyone was curious, that’s why I started blogging now instead of waiting.

