It was late last Friday afternoon, and my co-workers’ minds started to wander.  A conversation started, and eventually the topic came around to our first cars.  Everybody had some fun stories to tell about their own first car, even the guy who had a 1975 AMC Pacer.  Whether it was correct or not, our first cars – especially those we had when we were teenagers – formed a large part of our self image.

My first car was a 1974 Ford Mustang II.  It looked a lot like the car in the picture above, with the same body color and vinyl top, except it had painted white lines that highlighted the indented section extending along each door.  I had a love/hate relationship with that car; I loved how good it looked, hated its frequent need for expensive repairs.  In fact, one of my sisters nicknamed it “The Green Lemon.”  I wouldn’t have admitted that to anyone else back then, but enough time has passed that I can appreciate the humor of it.

I bought the Mustang in 1978, when I was a high school senior, and drove it through about 1986.  I still have quite a few fond memories of that car, and some not so fond as well.

What was your first car?  What do you remember about it?  Please share your memories in the comment section.

