“Jump off the cliff and build your wings on the way down.” – Ray Bradbury

The quote reminds me a lot of this Droid Turbo ad with James Franco that is playing pretty often right now.

On Sunday, I went to my first writing seminar. For most of the time that I’ve been writing and revising my novel, I’ve worked alone. This was my first time in a group with a couple dozen other writers.

The seminar was presented by Sam Weller and covered Ray Bradbury’s method of writing short stories.  Weller is Bradbury’s biographer, and a short story writer himself.

After reviewing Bradbury’s life and writing career, Weller went into more of the specific techniques Bradbury used to come up with ideas and expand those ideas into stories. Some of the tips Weller passed along were things I had read elsewhere (write everyday, turn off your inner editor during the first draft etc.). The difference was, instead of reading them, this time I heard them directly from a living, breathing writer.

I won’t go into the specifics of the Bradbury method, but during the session we did some exercises that convinced me that the system does work. Although I primarily intend to write novels, if I ever decide to write short stories for a change of pace or as a means of promoting myself and my work, I know I’ll never be short of ideas.

 

photo credit: caribb via photopin cc

