This is the first of what I plan to be a regular series of posts about the books I’m currently reading, what I’ve recently completed, and what’s next in my TBR queue.

Now:

City of Heavenly Fire, by Cassandra Clare

This is the final book of Clare’s Mortal Instruments series. I’ve enjoyed the plot and many of the characters in this series, but the writing itself can be difficult to wade through.  This volume is more than 700 pages long; it probably won’t be a quick read, so I’m alternating between it and the next book on my list.

Mutation, by Roland Smith

By coincidence, this is also the last book of a series.  Mutation concludes Smith’s Cryptid Hunters series. As with the other volumes, the plot moves quickly and the writing is easy to process. I’m looking forward to finding out how everything gets resolved.

Just Finished:

Champion, by Marie Lu

This book concluded Lu’s Legend trilogy. I felt let down by the way this series ended. I didn’t find the characters to be all that engaging, and the book just wasn’t that much fun to read.

The Silkworm, by Robert Galbraith (JoAnne Rowling)

I typically don’t read that many mysteries, but I’ve enjoyed both of Galbraith/Rowling’s Cormoran Strike novels. Strike is an interesting and engaging character, and his office assistant provides a good foil for him. It was easier for me to solve the mystery this time around than it was in the prior book. I’d rate it about equal to Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes as a procedural crime novel, with slightly less gore.

On Deck:

The Young Elites, by Marie Lu

I haven’t heard much about this new series from Lu, so I’m planning to see what it’s like and then decide whether to read the subsequent volumes.

