Reading Now:

The 6th Extinction, by James Rollins

I’m about 100 pages into the story, and I like it a lot so far.  Looking forward to reading some of his other books. I may be adding another name to my list of favorite authors.

Just Finished:

The Young Elites, by Marie Lu

This is one of the rare books that I had to stop reading.  I tried it for 100 pages, but had problems with so many things with this book.  I didn’t like any of the characters and the writing itself bothered me – there were so many things that jumped out at me that new writers are told again and again not to do. She clearly spent a lot of time creating her world, but it just didn’t connect with me.  My biggest criticism of Lu’s Legend trilogy would be that it didn’t provide a lot of pleasure for me as a reader – that is doubly true for The Young Elites. I don’t plan on reading the rest of the series.

City of Heavenly Fire, by Cassandra Clare

When I started this book, I thought it was going to take me forever to get through it. Once I got started though, I really got into to it and finished it quickly.  I enjoyed the way it ended the series, but thought that it spent too much time promoting Clare’s next series.

Mutation, by Roland Smith

Really enjoyed this book. Tied up all the loose ends of the series, even brought in characters from some of his other books. Roland Smith always provides an enjoyable read, highly recommended.

 

On Deck:

2 non-fiction books by Sam Weller – Listen to the Echoes: The Ray Bradbury Interviews, and The Bradbury Chronicles

Who Can Save Us Now? – a collection of short stories about superheroes

