Reading Now:

Four: A Divergent Collection, by Veronica Roth

This is a set of four stories featuring the character named Four from Roth’s Divergent series. I finished the first story in one morning, so this should be a quick read. While I’m not a huge fan of the series, I did enjoy it and am looking forward to reading the rest of this book.

Just Finished:

The 6th Extinction, by James Rollins

I found James Rollins’ writing to be very similar to Clive Cussler, another favorite of mine. I enjoyed this book, and will be reading more from Rollins in the future.

Listen to the Echoes: The Ray Bradbury Interviews, by Sam Weller

There are a lot of things that I learned about Ray Bradbury from reading this book, but the one that fascinated me most was that Bradbury was always writing to someone – another writer, an actor, a musician, etc. – and telling them how much he admired their work. He loved to hear others praise him, but also went out of his way to praise others as well.

The Bradbury Chronicles, by Sam Weller

Ray Bradbury led such a fascinating life. It amazed me that most of the giants in early science fiction started out as members of a group in Los Angeles that met once a week to talk about science fiction. Bradbury never let fear stand and the way of trying new things – except for flying, and he eventually even did that fairly late in life – and always expressed gratitude for the help he received along the way.

 

On Deck:

Bradbury Stories – 100 of Bradbury’s short stories

Who Can Save Us Now? – a collection of short stories about superheroes

