Reading Now:

Mark of the Thief, by Jennifer Nielsen – I’ve seen a lot of recommendations for this book and author on Twitter. My wife already read it and liked it a lot. I’m a little over 100 pages in, the writing style is very easy to read and the plot holds my interest well.

The Walking Dead Volumes 1-5, by Robert Kirkman – I’m a fan of the TV show, and have been meaning for a long time to read the original comic series to find where the show follows the books and also where it departs from them. Our library has 23 volumes available, so I have quite a ways to go.

The Novel Writer’s Toolkit, by Bob Mayer – Getting ready to make an editing pass on my WIP devoted exclusively to dialogue, hoping to find some tips to help with that here.

Just Finished:

The Devil’s Intern, by Donna Hosie  – I still love the concept for this book. Also loved the characters, but would have liked a little less humorous approach.

The Time Traveler’s Almanac – I ended up skipping a lot of the stories in this anthology written by lesser known authors. I check out these huge short story anthologies, and then get burned out a few hundred pages in.

Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard – Mostly disappointed in this one. The main character was kind of whiny and not very engaging. Spent at least the first half of the book noting similarities to Red Rising/Golden Son.

The Kick-Ass Writer, by Chuck Wendig – Was hoping for more of a technical book about the craft of writing – this was basically 40 25-item lists on various writing topics. I read it all because I follow Wendig’s blog and find it motivational at times.

 

On Deck:

We All Looked Up, by Tommy Wallach – Another hyped debut YA novel, curious to see if this one merits the hype.

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis, by Keija Parssinen – There was an article in the Books section of the Sunday March 15 Kansas City Star about this book and the Columbia, MO based Parssinen. I’d also seen some tweets about it on my Twitter agent list, so decided to read it.

The Scorch Trials, by James Daschner – Sequel to the Maze Runner

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy – Heard this one mentioned on The Walking Dead’Cast

The Art and Craft of Storytelling, by Nancy Lamb – Hoping to learn useful writing advice

Let’s Get Creative: Writing Fiction That Sells, by William F. Nolan – Another writing craft book

