It’s been nearly a month since my last What I’m Reading post, so there’s a big backlog in the Just Finished column to catch up on.

Reading Now:

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli – I’ve loved the title of this book since I first heard of it last fall. I’m seeing a lot of positive buzz surrounding it’s release and am looking forward to reading it.

The Walking Dead Volumes 11-15, by Robert Kirkman – Hard to believe I’m nearly caught up to where the TV series ended season 5 a few weeks ago. I read the small print on the copyright page, and each of these volumes combines six of the monthly issues, so I’ll be on issue 90 when I finish volume 15.

Pathfinder, by Orson Scott Card – I was using Amazon to look for comparable titles to my own YA time travel novel and this one came up as a possible match.

Just Finished:

Mark of the Thief, by Jennifer Nielsen – An enjoyable book. Recommended for any fans of YA fantasy.

The Walking Dead Volumes 1-10, by Robert Kirkman – I’m a little less than half-way through our library’s collection. It’s fun to see where the TV series and the comics differ.

The Novel Writer’s Toolkit, by Bob Mayer – Some sections were outdated, but found some useful advice here.

We All Looked Up, by Tommy Wallach – A well written book with a fascinating premise, but not buying how things unfolded. Also did not like the ending.

The Scorch Trials, by James Daschner – It took me a while to warm up to Daschner’s sequel to The Maze Runners, but I finally did get into it and enjoyed it.

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy – I couldn’t get more than 10 pages into this. The writing style just wasn’t for me.

The Art and Craft of Storytelling, by Nancy Lamb – I learned some things from this book.

Let’s Get Creative: Writing Fiction That Sells, by William F. Nolan – Included some fun info about Nolan’s biggest success, Logan’s Run, but not a lot of nut and bolts writing advice here.

 

On Deck:

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis, by Keija Parssinen – There was an article in the Books section of the Sunday March 15 Kansas City Star about this book and the Columbia, MO based Parssinen. I’d also seen some tweets about it on my Twitter agent list, so decided to read it.

The Tempest, by Julie Cross – I’m looking for comp titles to use in my query letter, and this time travel story looks promising.

Mark Twain biographies – I grew up about 40 miles from Twain’s boyhood home in Hannibal, MO. I want to be able to include him in one of my time travel books at some point so I’m doing the research now.

