It’s been nearly a month since my last What I’m Reading post, so there’s a big backlog in the Just Finished column to catch up on.

Reading Now:

Mark Twain: A Life, by Ron Powers – It’s taking me forever to get through this – not that I don’t like it, it’s just that it is a huge book with tiny print and I’ve been spending a lot of time revising and proofing my novel. I’m taking a break from that now, so hope to get this finished in the next week.

The Plot to Seize the White House, by Jules Archer – The true story of the 1933 “Business Plot” to overthrow FDR and put a fascist dictator in his place. Includes a short biography of Marine General Smedley Butler, who was selected to be dictator but revealed the plot instead. The Business Plot and Butler are centerpieces to the part of my novel that happens in 1937.

Just Finished:

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli – I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I’d say it lived up to its reviews.

The Walking Dead Volumes 16-20, by Robert Kirkman – Now I’m well past where last season left off, and less than 5 volumes from caught up on all the issues.

Pathfinder, by Orson Scott Card – While parts of this were aggravating, I got hooked and had to read on to the end to find out how the story ended.

Tempest, by Julie Cross – Some of the aspects of time travel were hard to follow, but I will probably read the other two volumes of the trilogy at some point.

 

On Deck:

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis, by Keija Parssinen – There was an article in the Books section of the Sunday March 15 Kansas City Star about this book and the Columbia, MO based Parssinen. I’d also seen some tweets about it on my Twitter agent list, so decided to read it.

The Death Cure, by James Dashner – The third volume of the trilogy that started with The Maze Runner.

Mark Twain: The Adventures of Samuel L. Clemens, by Jerome Loving – May or may not get to this one now because of everything else going on.

My Heart and Other Black Holes, by Jasmine Warga – Sounds interesting, looking forward to reading.

Write Great Fiction: Plot and Structure, by James Scott Bell – I found this on a couple of recommended reading lists for writers.

