This is a question I’ve seen on a lot of agency websites while prepping to query. Mostly I’ve seen it asked for non-fiction authors, but it’s well worth considering for novelists as well. I came across a response to this question last week that I considered short-sighted and vindictive. It made me take an even longer look at how I would answer this question.

Get Out of My Head

It was 2007 when the core characters and plot of The Destiny Matrix first started percolating in my mind. Over the next five years, I refined and expanded my ideas. I’d lived with them every day, trying to fit the pieces of their existence together. By the time I started my first draft in 2012, the characters demanded to be let out of my mind and onto paper. I guess that a good enough reason behind why I wrote the book, but there’s an even better response as to why I was the one to write this book.

A Book I Wanted to Read

If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” ― Toni Morrison

During my life, I’ve acquired a passion for a lot of different interests. When I was putting together my plot, I threw a little bit of everything into the mix. I wanted to read a book with conspirators who want to rule the world and a time-traveling teen who gets forced into stopping them. I wanted to read a book with martial arts fights, inter-dimensional nomads, and cameo appearances by real-life historical characters. I wanted to read a book with Nostradamus’ daughter, a pet chupacabra, and a lesbian version of Han Solo in it.

So that’s what I wrote.

Will an agent and/or publisher share my passion for seeing my book in print? That remains to be seen, but no matter how my journey to publication ends, I can say that I’ve definitely met Toni Morrison’s challenge.

 

 

 

 

 

photo credit: Always Writing via photopin (license)nbsp;

