Reading Now:

Go Set A Watchman, by Harper Lee – I couldn’t resist reading this, after all of the controversy surrounding it’s portrayal of the aged Atticus Finch. I’m about halfway through now, nothing much was happening in the beginning but it’s starting to speed up.


Just Finished:

Steelheart, by Brandon Sanderson – My wife recommended this superhero story, the first volume of The Reckoners series. Looking forward to the rest of the series.

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis, by Keija Parssinen – I enjoyed this book. I was a little disappointed that the incident that incited most of the problems in the plot was never resolved.

The Death Cure, by James Dashner – After reading the final book of the Maze Runner trilogy, I was left wondering why W.I.C.K.E.D. even ran the trials to begin with – they could have skipped right to their final solution and saved everyone a lot of trouble.

My Heart and Other Black Holes, by Jasmine Warga – I loved this book. A bittersweet romance between two depressed/guilt-ridden teens who want to commit suicide together. My family gave me weird looks when I told them the basic plot, but it really worked well.

Write Great Fiction: Plot and Structure, by James Scott Bell – Sound writing advice.

 

 

On Deck:

Firefight, by Brandon Sanderson – The second book of The Reckoners series.

More Happy Than Not, by Adam Silvera – a much-acclaimed debut novel

Population Control: How Corporate Owners Are Killing Us, by Jim Marrs – always looking forward to a book from the king of conspiracy writers

Save the Cat!, by Blake Snyder – A book on screenwriting, but with lessons for story tellers of all stripes

Finders Keepers, by Stephen King – The latest from my all-time favorite author.

The President’s Shadow, by Brad Meltzer – Conspiracy thriller

