This is my first “reading” update in several months. Instead of having updates about several books at a time, I’m going to try posting about the books I read as I read them – hopefully I’ll be able to post more regularly that way.

This week, I’ve been reading The Last American Vampire, by Seth Grahame-Smith. This book is the sequel to Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, which I loved. Grahame-Smith is also the author of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, which was a hilarious book. The trailer of the upcoming movie version looks like more of a horror story than comedy. His Unholy Night is an off the wall retelling of the story of Christ’s birth and his family’s escape from King Herod.

The Last American Vampire is the fictional memoir of Henry Sturges, the vampire who mentored Abraham Lincoln in the original book. While I enjoy Grahame-Smith’s use of historical characters and situations (it’s a technique I use in my own writing), I didn’t get the same level of pure enjoyment out of this book that I got from the original.

I recommend it, but only for those who have a higher than average tolerance for blood and gore.

