I have a confession to make. I can’t resist movies based on comic books. I can’t resist superhero movies in general, even if they’ve never been in a comic. Remember Mystery Men, with Ben Stiller leading an offbeat crew of non-quite super heroes? Loved it. Be warned, I don’t always agree with the movie critics. I loved the critically panned 1990’s Batman sequels. More recently, critics called Pixels one of the worst movies of 2015 – I thought it was great.

Having established that I’m a sucker for comic-based films, I watched one earlier this week that had me working really hard to find something positive to say. As you can probably tell from the title of this post, I’m talking about the 2015 reboot of the Fantastic Four. After giving it some thought, I eventually found something good to say about it – Michael B. Jordan (Creed) jumped off the screen as Johnny Storm. Other than that, I can’t find much else good to say.

The biggest objection I have is that there was very little action in this movie. Instead of an action-packed showdown at the end, we were given a poorly-lit climax that was difficult to understand because we were barely able to see it. This was also a problem I saw with the 2nd Jessica Alba/Chris Evans Fantastic Four movie, where Galactus was some kind of cosmic storm cloud and all we saw of him was a bunch of flashing lights and debris.

Another problem I saw was in the characterizations of Reed and Ben. Reed comes off as a bit of a coward, and while Reed tells us that he needs Ben to watch his back, what we’re shown of Ben before his transformation to the Thing makes that hard to believe. Sue and Johnny Storm were more true to their established character.

Maybe I should have listened to the critics who gave The Fantastic Four poor reviews. I’ve ignored them many times before, but this time they were right.

