Aftermath is the third book by Chuck Wendig that I’ve read in the past few months. The first was Blackbirds  – the main character, Miriam Black, didn’t connect with me. The second book was Zer0es, which I loved. I wanted to read Aftermath because it is part of Disney’s authorized “canon” for the Star Wars universe. After seeing The Force Awakens back before Christmas, I also wanted to see if it could answer any questions the movie raised.

I enjoyed the book, but for the first half of it, I got more and more annoyed that every single character, item, and creature had to have an unusual, exotic name. I think Wendig did this because it’s an expectation in Star Wars novels. In the second half of the book I got used to it, so it didn’t bother me as much.

While I enjoyed Aftermath, I probably won’t be choosing any other Star Wars books to read, unless it’s Alan Dean Foster’s novelization of The Force Awakens.

