JFK conspiracy theories used to seem farfetched to me. Then Oliver Stone’s JFK came out in 1991, completely changing my point of view. I began reading everything I could get my hands on about the assassination and the various conspiracy theories that sprang up around it. I read so many books on the subject, I stopped counting when I hit one hundred.

I was two years old when JFK was killed, thirteen when Nixon resigned, nineteen when the October Surprise happened, and forty on 9/11. The experiences of my lifetime have contributed to a healthy skepticism where politicians, corporations, and official explanations are concerned.

If you’re looking for an overview of the JFK assassination, They Killed Our President might be just the book for you. Ventura, along with co-authors Dick Russell and David Wayne, lay out dozens of examples where the official story – i.e. the Warren Commission findings – run contrary to their witness statements, evidence collected, and common sense.

In addition to a detailed discussion of evidence indicating Lee Harvey Oswald couldn’t have acted alone, the book discusses the Warren Commission as a mechanism for covering up a conspiracy, and lays out evidence for the involvement of several groups in the assassination.

Published in 2013, They Killed Our President included some information that was new to me as well as reviewing information dating back to the 1960s.

 

photo credit: Calling Card? via photopin (license)

