One of my critique partners recommended The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare on Twitter a few weeks ago. Since I liked the premise, I decided to put it on my TBR list.  The time travel aspect of it made me think it might be a good comp for my own time travel WIP.

The book got off to a bit of a bumpy start for me because I didn’t find Alex very sympathetic in those early pages. My view of her changed gradually after that, and she became someone I could root for.

57 Lives has a very complicated plot, but Buehrlen handles it very well. The sequel, The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare, is already out, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that 57 Lives comes to a satisfying conclusion of it’s own, and is not merely a lead in to the second book. I’m looking forward to reading Untimely Deaths very soon.

The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is written for the YA category of readers, but may also be suitable for the upper age range of MG. I highly recommend it.

