My approach to rating books on Goodreads is pretty simple. I start by assuming a rating of 4-stars and then adjust up or down based on factors such as quality of writing, enjoyability, etc. While the subject matter of This Is Where It Ends – school shootings – can’t be said to be enjoyable, it does make for a gripping story line.

The writing in This Is Where It Ends is fast-paced and not overly descriptive. This, together with the story line, makes it a very quick read. One think I’ve seen a lot of in YA books I’ve read recently is the use of distracting words or sentence structure so annoying that it drags me completely out of the story. That was never an issue for me in reading this book. I debated giving it 5 stars, but ultimately decided that the shooter’s motivation wasn’t quite convincing enough.

 

