A few weeks ago, I reviewed The Fog Diver, a MG fantasy/adventure book by this same author. Since Double Cross Blind is an adult WWII spy thriller, I expected them to be much different reads since they were published about ten years apart, and they were.  When I read another reviewer’s write-up on the MG book, there was a brief synopsis of this book. I thought it sounded very interesting, so I put it on my “To Read” list.

There were sections in the first half of Double Cross Blind that I think were overly descriptive, maybe even bordering on literary. The pace picked up in the second half, enough so I that it was easy to overlook any tendency to over-describe.

The character who stole the show for me was Sondegger, a German defector locked up in a British safe house who comes off like a Nazi Hannibal Lecter.

If I had to chose only one of Ross’ books to recommend, it would be The Fog Diver. It is a more polished book, and the MG age category is where a lot of my interests lie right now for both reading and writing.

