A few weeks ago, I had some harsh words for the book Story Physics by this same author. I said then that I would read a couple of his other books and then report back on whether they were as disappointing. I’m very glad to say that I’m quite pleased with Story Fix.

Story Fix suggests that you evaluate your book on twelve components to help determine what elements of your story and/or writing need work. It provides guidelines to help honestly evaluate your manuscript across the twelve components. The results of this analysis can give you the direction you need while editing your work.

I consider Save the Cat to be probably the best resource to consult in plotting a story. Story Fix is a great companion volume for those needing to revise a story that’s already finished. It taught me that if the story structure is sound enough, it is possible to strengthen writing skills enough to make a project salable.

While I took away a great deal of encouragement from reading Story Fix, it also has a scary side. Even if the writing is excellent, there are stories that aren’t strong enough to gain agent representation or be published without extensive revising or rewriting. In a way, that’s the harshest news a writer can imagine receiving. In the event that you come to that conclusion about your own story, Story Fix provides plenty of knowledge to help make sure your next story has a strong structure from the very beginning.

I’m still trying to get my hands on the first book of Larry Brooks’ writing series, Story Engineering. I viewed an outline of it on our library’s website, and it looks like it will be very useful. I’ll be sure to post a review of it here when I’m done.

