A couple of weeks ago, I reviewed The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare. I liked it quite a bit, so I read the sequel.

I didn’t like this book as much as I did the first, for a few different reasons. This volume, which also seems to be the last of this particular story, was much shorter than the first book. I don’t know if this was due to a short turnaround for the sequel, or for some other reason. Regardless, this book suffered from a sagging middle, most of which seemed to be filler.

Another thing I didn’t care for was that teachers and principals were portrayed in each book as villains. In the first book, it happened at the very beginning so I had the rest of the book to change my opinion. In this book, it happened near the end and reminded me of how adults and teachers are portrayed in Disney Channel series – they are only there to appear foolish.

Lastly, the pace of this book was much slower than the first one. The trip back in time to China was very slow paced and filled with excess description, which is what makes me think it was filler.

I wouldn’t say this is a bad book – I gave it three stars on Goodreads – it’s just that after reading the first one, I expected more that this. This seems like it’s the last book of this storyline, but if not, I would still read another in the same series. I would read a different book by this author if the storyline interests me.

