Sleeping Giants is one of the most difficult books to rate in recent memory. I changed my mind concerning how I felt about it several times while reading it.

The strongest aspect of the book is its premise. I’d wanted to read it ever since I heard about. It all starts when a young girl falls into a hole in the ground, discovering a giant metal hand. Years later, the girl becomes part of a program searching for other pieces of the robot and trying to solve the mysteries of  who buried the parts thousands of years ago and why they did it.

There are some problems with the execution of the story that made me lower my rating. Most of the story is told in a series of interviews with various people involved in the project. The interviewer is annoying, to say the least. The first chapter of the book reads like an extensive first-person info dump where the author added the interviewers questions to break things up.

The interview format quickly became tiresome, but the strength of the premise kept me reading. Ultimately, I gave Sleeping Giants 3 stars on Goodreads – if they allowed partial stars, I would probably have upped that to 3.5. It was an entertaining read, despite any shortcomings in the telling of the story.

 

