I decided to read this book because Larry Brooks used it as an example of an especially strong premise in his book Story Fix. In Wild Fire, a group of wealthy right-wing businessmen and government official decide to instigate a fake act of nuclear terrorism on U.S. soil to provoke a nuclear response against the Middle East. It is a strong premise, made to order for my taste.

While the premise is sound, I found something to be desired in the execution – not that the writing was poor. I seriously did not like the main character in this book. It’s hard for me to imagine a character being more sexist than former NYPD detective John Corey. In this book, if there was a rule to be broken or a tasteless joke opportunity, you can count on Corey to misbehave. I’ve got as good a sense of humor as the next guy, but 500+ pages of John Corey can really wear on you.

I’d be open to reading another book by Nelson DeMille if the premise is good, but I’ll think twice about it if the main character is Det. John Corey.

