About a month ago, I read A Head Full of Ghosts, by this same author. That book delivered some genuine scares and creepy moments. Those were in very short supply in Disappearance at Devil’s Rock.

The premise is that a group of young teens sneaks into a state park, where one of the group disappears. This happens in the first couple of pages. The rest of the book is spent observing how the disappearance affects the boy’s divorced mother and sister, while backtracking through the boy’s journal and his friends’ testimony to try to determine what really happened leading up to the disappearance.

I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads, and I feel that was being generous. The pacing was slow, and there was very little action at all. There were a couple of spots early in the book with large info dumps of character description. In my opinion, there wasn’t enough payoff in scares or action to justify the length of time I spent reading this book. I do not recommend it.

 

