I chose to read Promise of Shadows to help meet my goal of reading more books by diverse authors this year. I also wanted to read something from Justina Ireland prior to her next book, Dread Nation, being published.

Promise of Shadows is a complex book to review. The writing is good – if you’ve read many of my prior reviews, you know that I don’t like it when the writing detracts from the story – that is not a concern with this book. The story is based on Greek mythology, I’d compare it to a more violent and less humorous relative of the Percy Jackson books. I usually don’t connect with fantasy stories, but had no problem at all with this one; I was drawn into the story early on, and stayed hooked until the very end. The only thing that annoyed me was how Zephyr alternated between wanting to fight and being too scared to fight. I know the author was trying to paint her as being vulnerable, but the frequent back and forth was a bit too much for me.

I’m giving Promise of Shadows 4 stars on Goodreads. I’m especially looking forward to Dread Nation, which involves an undead uprising in the wake of the Civil War. Ms. Ireland is a more than capable author, and I’m looking forward to seeing how she handles this premise.

