I have very mixed feelings about Cursed Child. From the reviews I’ve read, it seems like people either love it or hate it. The fact that it is written in script form might turn some readers off, but I’ve read published screenplays before, so it didn’t bother me. I liked it overall, but there were some parts I liked a lot more than others.

Actually, I loved the first two acts. Hardcore Potter fans will appreciate getting caught up to date on happenings since the end of Deathly Hallows. We learn some intriguing background on a few characters as well. The theme of the first half of the play is clearly defying the expectations of family and society, and the story does a great job of bringing this out. Things went off the rails a bit for me for a lot of Act 3, but got back on course during the final act.

I don’t have a Pottermore account, so I’ve been starving for new material from the HP universe. What I loved most was catching up with some of my favorite characters ever. Since Cursed Child was published as a script, it lacks a lot of the description and depth of characterization that a novel would have provided. Despite those shortcomings and the portion where I felt the plot wandered, I gave Cursed Child 4 stars on Goodreads. I don’t recommend it for anyone who isn’t already familiar with the HP universe; for those that are Potter fans, what are you waiting for?

 

photo credit: The Marauders and Lily (new) via photopin (license)

