Locke & Key is a series of graphic novels illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez and written by Joe Hill, author of The Fireman. The series tells the story of a mother and three children who move across country to live in their late husband/father’s ancestral home. The house has many doors leading to weird and unusual places, and each door has an accompanying key. A paranormal entity wants to use the keys/doors for its own purposes, and persistently plots against and attacks the three children of the family to obtain what it needs.

Crown of Shadows is the third volume. I skipped Volume 2 because I’m too far down on the library’s waiting list and have volumes 4-6 ready to read right now. In my review of Volume 1, I said that I wasn’t quite drawn in by the series yet. After reading Volume 3, I’m definitely getting there, though not at the point of loving it yet.

At this point, I’m recommending the Locke and Key series for horror fans and graphic novel readers.

