Dialogue: The Art of Verbal Action for the Page, Stage, and Screen is a book on the craft of writing by Robert McKee, a famous writing teacher and mentor of writers. I nearly stopped reading this book a few times during the first 100 pages because it was so packed with obscure terminology that I was unable to read more than 6 to 8 pages at one time. I’m glad I stuck with it though, because things got better after that.

I’m not sure if the problem was just the terminology, or that McKee bundled playwriting and screenwriting in the same book as writing novels. Regardless, the remaining 190-200 pages seemed to be written in simpler language, and often deconstructed passages of dialogue to illustrate points. I recommend Dialogue as a good reference book about writing craft, but be aware that the first section of the book may be a challenge.

 

