The Last Dragon has always been a guilty pleasure of mine. While the characters and writing are a little corny and over the top, I still love the concept as well as the martial arts fights and Motown-fueled soundtrack. While I’ve never made a list of my favorite movies, if I had to guess, I’d put this one in my top 50 movies of the 1980s, and probably somewhere between 150 and 200 overall.

While searching YouTube for the clips below, I found a couple of links where you can watch the entire movie. It is rated PG-13, but I’d say the overall content and level of violence are suitable for all ages.

 

Here is the trailer for The Last Dragon:

One of my favorite parts of this movie was the battle at the television studio, where all of Leroy’s students came to help him fight Arcadian’s collection of goons. That said, my absolute favorite part was the ending fight between Leroy and Sho’nuff. It’s a perfect combination of music and action. If you don’t mind spoilers, here is the fight at the conclusion of The Last Dragon:

Feel free to comment below about your impressions of this movie or other 1980s nostalgia.

 

 

