Zone One has one of the most unique premises of any book I read this year – it’s a literary zombie novel. Literary. Zombies. I came across this book a few weeks ago when I read a newspaper article about Whitehead’s newest book, The Underground Railroad.

I haven’t read that many literary novels. After reading a couple this year, I found out why – slow pacing, over-description, wordiness, and flashbacks. This book suffered from all three. Early on in this book, a group of four zombies attacked the main character. It was an action scene lasting no more than one minute, but dragged out over a dozen pages.

To be honest, two-thirds of the way through it, I would have rated Zone One a two-star read for all the reason I listed in the paragraph above. There were time-skips galore, unanchored flashbacks, run-on sentences and paragraphs, you name it.

All those problems didn’t go away in the last third, but the ending of the book delivered enough for me to give it three-stars on Goodreads. Whitehead’s latest book, The Underground Railroad, is highly rated, but after the frustration I experienced with this book, I don’t think I’ll be reading in anytime soon.

 

