So, Pitch Slam finalists were announced today – the contest had a Star Wars theme this year, which explains my photo selection for this post. After days of anticipation, I scanned the selections for the teams assembled by the four contest organizers. My entry wasn’t listed on any of them. BUT, a fifth team had been added. With my hopes fading, I checked the members of that team and found my entry – #MoMoLives (click here to go to my entry, but no comments unless you’re a literary agent please) – listed on that team.

This is my second time making a contest final round this year with this book. The first time was in Sun vs. Snow back in February. That didn’t turn out like I’d hoped, but I learned from the experience and made a few changes in the book. I turned it from a contemporary novel to horror. As part of the makeover, I re-wrote the entire beginning and ending of the book. This time around I’m hoping for the best, but prepared for the worst.

Regardless of what happens in this agent round, I’m excited to be taking part in it, fortunate to be chosen from among so many excellent entries, and grateful to everyone who had a part in putting together and making it work. As much as I love taking part in these kind of contests, this will likely be the last one I enter this manuscript in – at some point I need to query it as widely as possible and move on to the next project.

The other topic I want to touch on is that The Hate U Give, by A. C. Thomas is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Angela is a friend and critique partner of mine, and this book is going to draw a lot of attention between now and publication. I read a few chapters back in summer 2015 before she signed with her agent, and they were packed with conflict. It took me to places in contemporary American life that I’ve never been before, and opened my eyes to a lot of things I’d never bothered myself to think about. I’m going to buy it, I recommend that you do too. Here is a short excerpt from the book.

 

 

photo credit: It`s a beautiful day via photopin (license)