At the risk of sounding like a cranky old man, I have to say that I’m not a fan of ‘event’ comic book series or the perpetual reboots that have been all the rage over the past several years. H’el on Earth (WordPress wouldn’t accept an apostrophe in the post title) is part of DC’s New 52 reboot from a few years back, and while I enjoyed it to a certain extent, it crystalized a few pet peeves of mine about modern comics in general and Superman comics in particular.

First off, H’el is a Kryptonian, a protege of Jor-El who is sent out of a spaceship looking for a way to avert Krypton’s looming destruction. Krypton survivors show up so often, they should take away Superman’s Last Son of Krypton status. I realize that it can be difficult to Supergirl, Krypto, General Zod, and the two million or so inhabitants of the miniaturized city of Kandor not withstanding, there are way too many random Kryptonians showing up wanting to throw down with Superman.

DC also needs to decide where the relationship between Superman/Clark Kent and Lois Lane stands. It seems like every book I pick up has them at a different level. In this one, Lois is moving in with someone else and Superman and Wonder Woman are lovers.

I was also a little annoyed at some of the naming. For starters, I thought using the name H’el was a bad idea. I get the play on words, and that it allowed them to use the title H’el On Earth, but it just seems too cute by far. This also holds true for N.O.W.H.E.R.E., the name of the organization that created the clone Superboy.

What I liked about H’el on Earth was that it gave Supergirl and the clone Superboy major roles to play. There was some clever interplay between Superman and his clone that I enjoyed. I’m a big fan of crossovers and team-ups, so I was happy to see both the Justice League and Teen Titans make appearances.

I gave H’el On Earth three stars. It’s a good read, even with the annoyances.

Rant over.

Now get off my yard.

 

