Stephen King has been my favorite author ever since discovering him in 1977. For a while now, I’ve been planning a post about my favorite King books. It’s no easy task, given that King writes in several different formats, including novels, novellas, short stories, and screenplays.

In formulating my list, I’ve included works of fiction and non-fiction. It’s been a difficult task to identify only ten books to include, so after revealing my top 10, I also have a list of seven honorable mentions. You may not agree with all of my choices – in fact, I’d be surprised if you did. The list is based on my personal tastes – your results may vary.

Now, without further ado, here are numbers six through ten on the list, in reverse order.

10. On Writing (2000) – A mixture of advice on writing and autobiography, many writers have On Writing on their list of best books about writing. Here is my review from a few months ago.

9. 11/22/63 (2011) – While I don’t agree with King’s conclusion that Oswald was JFK’s lone assassin, I did enjoy this book.

8. Different Seasons (1982) – This collection of four novellas spawned three motion pictures, including The Shawshank Redemption (based on Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption), and Stand By Me (based on The Body).

7. Under the Dome (2009) – Like a couple of the books at the top of my list, Under the Dome features a large cast of characters. I haven’t seen the television adaption of the book yet, but will be correcting that oversight as soon as possible.

6. Danse Macabre (1981) – This is an overlooked work of non-fiction where King undertakes a psychological review of the horror genre. It includes some auto-biographical asides that help explain King’s fixation with horror as well as a list of recommended horror films and books. For several years, I checked off entries from the list as I watched or read them. To this day, I keep my 30+ year old paperback copy on my nightstand for easy reference.

Feel free to comment below. Here’s the link to Part 2 of the list, and also the Honorable Mentions.

 

 

photo credit: Tojosan Stephen King Book Collection – partial via photopin (license)

