It’s tempting to describe Story as a book about story structure and screen writing, but that’s really an over simplistic point of view. Robert McKee is known as a screenwriter and a teacher of screenwriters, so it’s no surprise that this book focuses on writing for film, but it holds a lot of wisdom for storytellers in all media.

Like Dialogue, the other book I read by McKee, Story includes a lot of extraneous information. Readers will have to filter through a lot of other stuff in order to expose the most useful parts of what McKee has to say. For me, reading this book was a long, hard process. For that reason, I would not recommend it for beginners – my advice would be to read Save the Cat and Story Grid first. In particular, there is a lot of information in Story that helps clarify concepts in Story Grid.

I gave Story three stars on Goodreads, an average of 4 stars for content and 2 stars for focus and easy of reading. Honestly, when I started reading this book, I debated putting it in my DNF (did not finish) pile. I don’t think I’ll be attempting any other books by McKee for that reason.

 

