I honestly don’t remember where I heard about this book – it was probably either a book review blog or a tweeted book recommendation from one writer friend or another. Whatever the source of the information, I’m glad I came across it, because Fake ID is a very worthwhile read.

Teen Nick Pearson and his parents have been in the witness protection program for several years, constantly relocating because his father can’t stay on the right side of the law. Nick intends to follow instructions and stay out of the limelight, but somehow finds himself drawn into a complex web of conspiracy, murder, and romance.

I gave Fake ID a five-star rating on Goodreads. The characters are realistic, the plot unpredictable, and the writing didn’t distract me from the story. I believe this was a standalone story, but if I have the time, I will seek out other books by Lamar Giles.

