I know what you’re going to say. “Purple Rain was a pretty high profile movie – why are you including it in The Forgotten 80s?”

Ask yourself this – when was the last time you saw this movie on TV? I never see it on networks like AMC or FX or TNT, etc. I don’t watch enough television any more that I can say it’s never on, but that’s how it seems to me.

Purple Rain was a groundbreaking showcase for Prince and his music. Music videos from the soundtrack dominated MTV for months. I wanted to include a few of Prince’s videos from the soundtrack, but couldn’t find any of them on YouTube – there must be some copyright issues at work. I was able to find the movie trailer and a video by Morris Day and The Time.

Here is the trailer for Purple Rain:

Here is Jungle Love by Morris Day and The Time from the soundtrack:

 

 

Feel free to comment below about your impressions of this movie or other 1980s nostalgia.

 

 

