I gave As Brave As You five stars on Goodreads, but only because they wouldn’t let me give it six. About fifty pages into the book, I was leaning towards giving four stars, but then the plot took off and I loved every bit of what followed.

This is another middle grade story by Jason Reynolds, and like his other books, Reynolds creates realistic young characters and puts them in situations that challenge them. Many of Reynolds’ books take place in Brooklyn; in As Brave As You, the main characters come from Brooklyn, but the story takes place at their grandparents house in rural Virginia.

While this is a middle grade book aimed at ages 10 and up, there is nothing simple about it. There is a lot of complexity to the plot, which in my opinion makes it a good read for YA and even adult readers like myself. The many plot threads Reynolds incorporates into the story are one of the reasons I liked this book so much.

I recommend As Brave As You to readers of all ages.

 

