You can tell a true Harry Potter fan by how willing they are to read the published script from a movie they’ve already seen. That’s exactly what I did by reading the book version of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

In a lot of cases, this might seem to be a waste of time, but I feel like I did get some value out of it. There were a few bits of information (creature names, etc.) that slipped past me at the movie theater, overshadowed by the movie’s visual and sound effects or crowd noise. Having that info available to read helped deepen my understanding of the movie.

Secondly, having enjoyed the movie, reading the story brought back memories of what I liked in the movie. In a way, it helped me experience the movie all over again.

I gave this book four stars on Goodreads. It’s not quite 300 pages, but that includes a lot of shooting instructions and artwork. I’d estimate the text portion of the book would boil down to less that 125-150 pages, short enough to finish within a few hours.

 

 

