I recently reviewed The Six-Gun Tarot and The Shotgun Arcana, also by R. S. Belcher. I enjoyed both books, so decided to read another by the same author. The Brotherhood of the Wheel is billed as urban fantasy, to me reads as more of a straight out horror novel.

The premise of the story is that the Knights Templar, originally founded to protect travelers in the Holy Land during the Crusades, survived into modern times and call themselves the Brethern. Instead of hiding an immense treasure, today they roam the highways of America, returning to their original mission.

In the world where this story takes place, protecting travelers isn’t just a matter of giving directions or changing flat tires. The highways in this world attract serial killers and several different sorts of otherworldly creatures.

It took me several chapters before I really got into this book, but once I did, it was a very fast read. It reminded me a lot of early Stephen King stories, where characters intuited solutions to magical problems. In all three of the Belcher books I’ve read, he’s shown a talent for putting his many characters in the perfect position for the climactic battle.

I gave The Brotherhood of the Wheel 5 stars on Goodreads. R.S. Belcher is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

 

 

