In the introduction to my last review, for Wade Albert White’s The Adventurer’s Guide to Successful Escapes, I talked about how great it is to read and review books written by author friends that I’ve met through online pitch contests. That’s true again today as I review Michelle Hauck’s Faithful. Michelle chose me for Team Snow in the 2016 edition of Sun Vs. Snow, and I’m pleased to be reviewing the sequel to her 2016 novel, Grudging.


First, let me start by saying that I gave Faithful the maximum of five stars on Goodreads. I was concerned that it might take be a while to get back up to speed on the characters and plot carrying over from the previous book, but that wasn’t the case at all. One of the things I loved most about this book was the number of characters that were given such deep characterization. By my count there were seven, but I may have missed a couple more. 

I also loved how the romance developed through the course of the book. Although it was so gradual that I don’t think the characters involved even knew it was happening, in my eyes it was also inevitable.

Finally, in the last fifty pages or so, this book changes direction in a very big way. I’m not sure how the series will end, but I’m very anxious to find out.

 

