I usually don’t write blog posts for books I don’t finish, but I’m making an exception for this one.

I came across The Master Plan while reading a blog post about the Trump administration’s conflict with the scientific community that cited it as an example of what happens when science is subverted for political purposes. The book is about a German scientific agency founded by the SS during the 1930s. The agency was tasked with finding evidence to support the German belief that Aryans were the ‘master race’ and to justify mistreatment of Jews, gays, and other ‘undesirable’ groups.

My decision not to finish shouldn’t be a reflection on the author – it reflects more on my expectations for the book and the amount of time I’ve been able to spend reading it. I didn’t stop reading The Master Plan because it’s badly written or uninteresting. The problem is that I only got about 100 pages into it over a week’s time. Honestly, when I read the blog post that mentioned it, I hoped it would talk about Nazi efforts to get religious artifacts like in Raiders of the Lost Ark.

I would still recommend this book for readers interested in archaeology or the history of Nazi Germany and World War II.

