The Upside of Unrequited is such a great book, I’m not sure where to start on reviewing it. The best comparison I can think of is Jasmine Warga’s My Heart and Other Black Holes. That was my choice as top book in 2015. While it will probably come in behind The Hate U Give for me this year, it’s still a great book.

I think the thing I liked best about the book was the characterization. I really cared a lot for the main character, Molly, and wanted a happy ending for her so badly. While it was pretty clear throughout the book who she would end up with, knowledge of that likelihood didn’t detract from the emotional payoff when it came.

I gave The Upside of Unrequited five stars on Goodreads. I’m also considering a re-read of Becky Albertalli’s first book Simon and the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

