Booked is the second book by Kwame Alexander that I’ve read this week. It is written in verse, as is The Crossover. Unlike that book, this one is written in second person, a POV I haven’t encountered much before.

I liked the characters in Booked and the plot moves quickly. The problems for me come from a couple of points in the story where it’s difficult to tell when the main character is speaking to someone else using the word “you”  and when it is the internal dialogue of the second person POV using “you.” The ending is a bit abrupt and unclear as well. While it is about 100 pages longer than The Crossover, it is still a very quick but enjoyable read.

I gave Booked four stars on Goodreads, mainly because of the confusion arising from using second person. I’ll be on the lookout for other books by this author.

