The camera and typewriter shown above belonged to my dad. As a newspaper reporter and later as news editor at the Louisiana Press Journal, these were the primary tools of his trade.  He passed away in 1967 at age 41; if he were still alive today, he would be turning 91 next month.

My dad was still in his teens when he joined the army, in fact, he had just arrived in Europe when the Germans surrendered at the end of World War II. He was assigned to Austria, where he was part of a crew that went house-to-house searching for hidden Nazi soldiers. In letters he sent to my mother and grandmother during that time, he wrote about the awkwardness of invading the privacy of people’s homes and stress of potentially discovering German soldiers.

After the war, my father attended the University of Missouri-Columbia to study journalism. After graduation, he and my mother relocated to Iowa for a short time, then settled in Louisiana, Missouri; he lived there for the rest of his life.

After his death, my siblings and I liked to play with his typewriter, camera, and lightmeter. In those days, you had to manually focus the camera and set the shutter speed according to the lighting conditions. The lightmeter didn’t survive to the end of my childhood. The camera’s no longer in working condition either, but the typewriter held out fairly well. I have both these items now as keepsakes to remember my father.

I may write some more about my dad in a couple of months on the 50th anniversary of his death.

Happy Father’s Day to all. Feel free to share memories of your own father in the comments section.

