It’s confession time. I hate to admit it, but I came across this book while browsing in Wal-Mart. The premise was appealing, in a very National Treasure 2 way, so I checked it out from the library. Looking through Steve Berry’s other books in the online catalog, I discovered that I’d read another of his books, The Templar Legacy, about ten years ago. That book was in the vein of The DaVinci Code.

The Lost Order is Berry’s 12th featuring Cotton Malone as the main character (I believe The Templar Legacy was the first to feature him).  In this story, Malone and his allies run afoul of a real life Civil War-era secret society/terrorist organization known as the Knights of the Golden Circle. The plot revolves around the search for the Knights hidden treasure, as well as a sub-plot where highly-placed political actors try to implement a long buried Knights’ plan to elevate the power of the Speaker of the House of Representatives above the Senate and even the President.

I gave The Lost Order four stars on Goodreads. The beginning of the book was a little slow, and the large number of POV characters and rapid rotation between them in the start had me thinking I wasn’t going to like this book that well. Fortunately, I did end up enjoying the story. I’m probably not going to read more by this author right away, but long-term I can see myself reading more of Cotton Malone’s adventures when I have more time to devote to pure pleasure reading.

